• By Philip Green

RG Sports Editorial: Comeback plater of the year

On Monday, April 19, Alex Smith announced his retirement from the National Football League (NFL). After 16 years in the league, he is calling it a career, and what a career it was. Smith was drafted first overall by the San Francisco 49ers in 2005 and played for the team until 2012. He then went on to play five years in Kansas City before finishing his career in Washington.

During Smith’s first season in Washington, he experienced a gruesome injury to his right leg. The injury was life threatening and included 17 surgeries to save his leg and life. Many believed Smith would never play again, but he proved the doubters wrong.

On October 11, 2020, he stepped onto the field and played quarterback for the first time in two years. Smith played in his first game since the injury against the Los Angeles Rams. It was a moment that many NFL fans will remember forever. The story of 2020 and the COVID-19 filled season cannot be told without Smith’s accomplishment.

Playing in eight games this season, he helped Washington reach a wild card spot in the National Football Conference (NFC). Smith would go on to win the Comeback Player of the Year Award for his awesome accomplishment.

Now that he is officially wrapping up his career, it is time to name the award after him. Many trophies in the NFL are named after individuals who are synonymous with the trophy, like the Lombardi. The Comeback Player of the Year Award should now be known as the Alex Smith Award.

Follow the
Red and Green
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Twitter Basic Black